Momofuku Ssam Bar – a sandwich made in heaven

2014-02-01 18.09.30

Some foods are automatically associated to New York City such as a juicy hamburger, a tender bun hot dog but for me there is one that you just can’t leave without trying, David Chang’s pork belly steamed buns. It should be as innate to NYC as the Statue of Liberty and the Empire State Building.

Few dishes in ones lifetime are able to captivate you and leave a long-lasting memory of pure pleasure. The reminiscence of my first bite into a pork belly steamed bun has been etched into my brain. We went to Momofuku Ssam Bar for dinner one night and I was so overtaken by them that when my husband asked me where I wanted to  dine the following night, I quickly prompted to go back for another. He, of course, complied.

Ssam bar is a fun and dynamic place eat. Low lit and upbeat it makes a great place for cocktails and dinner. There are many other dishes on the menu which deserve mentioning and trying for that matter but this post is all about my beloved steamed buns.

There is something about these buns that is absolutely engulfing. When I saw that even Martha Stewart had David Chang on her show explaining how to make them, I knew that it was time to try them at home and we have and although they turn out quite good they still aren’t David Chang’s slices of heaven.

A special thanks to my friend Noelia who took the picture for me!

 

207 2nd Ave, New York, NY 10003

Telephone:+1 212-254-3500

They don’t take reservations, all you need to do is walk in and hope for a seat

http://www.momofuku.com

Leave a Reply

